Herbs & Natural ProductsMind-Body MedicineManipulative Body-based PracticesWhole Medical Systems
This is the "Main" page of the "Alternative Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alternative Medicine  

Resources for complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2013 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/altmed Print Guide RSS Updates

Main Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Questions?

Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746

 

Reference Resources

Key Alternative Medicine Databases

  • Alt HealthWatch
    Database provides full text for articles from more than 180 international journals, consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts with regards to contemporary as well as alternative medicine.
  • AMED - The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database
    Database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians regarding alternative medicine including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care. AMED contains records from over 500 journals with coverage being mainly European and is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
  • Natural Standard
    Natural Standard provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

Other Useful Health & Medical-Related Databases

Also see the full list of databases recommended for Alternative Medicine.

  • MEDLINE with Fulltext
    MEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
  • CINAHL
    Resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines including 950 nursing journals.

General Websites

 

Spartan Search

Library Home | D'Youville College Library

This powerful discovery tool searches across many of the library databases, periodical indexes and more to provide instant full text to many articles as well as citation tools. Use the search box below to begin your research:

Spartan Search

Guide Author

Profile Image
Justin Cronise
Contact Info
(716) 829-7747
Send Email

Related Subject Guides

Citing Sources

For APA style, as well as MLA, AMA and Chicago styles, we've got you covered:

 

User Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip