This is the "Montante Family Library Subject Guide" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology  

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2014 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/biology Print Guide RSS Updates
Montante Family Library Subject Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Online Reference Resources

Notable Websites

  • Encyclopedia of Life
    Knowledge about life on earth available in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.
  • Scitable
    A free science library and personal learning tool that concentrates on genetics and cell biology.
  • Catalogue of Life
    Quality-assured checklist of more than 1.5 million species known to science.
  • ITIS
    The Integrated Taxonomic Information System provides a very simple application to help find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of the world.
  • Genetics Home Reference
    Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health
 

The Scientific Method

From: http://tccl.rit.albany.edu/

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Biology Databases  List of primary databases used to find full-text articles and abstracts in the field of biology.

PLOS Biology  The Public Library of Science peer-reviewed open-access journal in the field of biology.

Directory of Public Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.  Open access means that the full text of the articles is free.  The database is easily filtered by subject and searched using keywords.

Digital Commons Network  Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Found the perfect article but can't find the full text?  The library provides a document delivery service. Create a profile in ILLIAD and submit your request for any journal article and the library will deliver a pdf of the article to your ILLiad account.

Request a Journal Article

Checking the Library for Full Text 

 

Subject Specific Library Resources


Cover Art
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry - Albert Lehninger; Michael M. Cox; David L. Nelson
Call Number: QD415 .L44 2008
ISBN: 9780716771081
Publication Date: 2008-02-01

Cover Art
Essentials of Genetics - William S. Klug; Michael R. Cummings; Charlotte A. Spencer; Michael A. Palladino
Call Number: QH430 .K576 2013
ISBN: 9780321803115
Publication Date: 2012-10-12



Cover Art
Evolution - David D. Zeigler
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9780128004173
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

 

EurekAlert for Biology News

EurekAlert!, the online, global news service operated by AAAS, the science society.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Scientific Writing Help

Cover Art
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology - Karin Knisely
Call Number: QH304 .K59 2009
ISBN: 9781429234917
Publication Date: 2009-04-10


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jackie Coffey Scott
Contact Info
716-829-7747 Research Desk
Send Email
 

Get Help

Research Desk: 716-829-7747

Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard

(Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Text-a-Librarian:
Text "refdesk" to 66746

Anatomy Resources

Atlas of the Human Body This visual aid, from the American Medical Association’s Patient Education Resources page, provides anatomy and medical illustrations for the human body.

Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice 

               

Available in the library or online

Primal Pictures 3-D Anatomy Derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by graphics specialists, Primal Pictures was created to serve as the only complete and medically accurate 3D model of human anatomy. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders

                   

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip