Career Services Center
The Career Services Center is committed to providing assistance to those preparing for the job market both before and after graduation. Included is a link to D’Youville’s Career Connections web site.
Interviewing
Acting the Interview: How to Ask and Answer the Questions that will Get You the Job – Circulating Collection
The Career Coward's Guide to Interviewing: Sensible Strategies for Overcoming Job Search Fears – Circulating Collection
Competency-Based Interviews: Master the Tough New Interview Style and Give Them the Answers That Will Win You the Job – Circulating Collection
Teacher interviews: How to Get them and How to Get Hired– Circulating Collection
Resumes and Cover Letters
Amazing Résumés: What Employers Want to See--and How to Say It – Circulation Collection
The Quick Résumé & Cover Letter Book: Write and Use an Effective Résumé in Only One Day – Library Reference
The Pharmacy Professional’s Guide to Resumes, CVs and Interviewing – Electronic Resource
Resumes for Nursing Careers – Library Reference
Introduction to Subject Guides
Subject guides assist students who are completing research for an assignment in their major, or an elective or required course. Students can easily find journal articles (online databases), encyclopedias and dictionaries, information for professional development and other discipline specific statistics. If you need more information, please see a Reference Librarian at the 1st Floor Research Desk, email refdesk@dyc.edu or telephone 716-829-7747.
Montante Family Library Databases
Academic Search Complete –This database provides access to magazines, trade journals and scholarly publications across a wide range of subject areas including employment. The articles found in this database tend to focus on subjects such as motivation, competence, real-world experience, accountability and the importance of education in regard to career development and advancement.
Business Source Premier – Geared toward the management side of the workplace, this extensive business database offers analysis, overviews and news about U.S. companies and industries. Business policy and strategy, leadership, personnel issues and professional development training are just a few of the topics addressed.
CINAHL (Ebsco) - Recent developments in medicine, along with unparalleled changes in health care systems, have created an environment in which it is necessary for health care professionals to take control of their careers and futures. Covering the subjects of nursing and allied health, this extensive database contains information regarding career development, alternatives, and advancement in the medical field.
Education Research Complete – Information on topics ranging from early childhood learning to higher education can be found in this database, including articles on the latest trends in classroom instruction and administration. Current educators and those considering a career in education will find helpful information for successful planning and teaching. Professional development is also emphasized.
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe – This database, primarily used for legal and business research and current news and events, contains full-text information on company executives, industry, and public and private company information. Career options, planning and development are covered with a worldwide perspective.
Occupational Outlook Quarterly Online This online version of Occupational Outlook Quarterly provides practical information on jobs and careers, covering a wide variety topics such as new and emerging occupations, training opportunities, salary trends, and results of new studies from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Proquest Central - ProQuest Central includes resources from over 160 different subject areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Job hunting, planning, development, skills, training and advancement are just some of the career-related topics available in addition to information regarding industry trends, unemployment statistics, current economic conditions and more.
Regional Business News - Containing more than 75 of the top regional business newspapers, news magazines and newswires from both metropolitan and rural regions across the U.S., this database focuses on specific geographic locations in regard to career planning, opportunities and development and region-specific industry trends, unemployment statistics and more.
Career Directories
The Almanac of American Employers – Library Reference
Educators Resource Directory – Reference Collection
Health Care Careers Directory – Library Reference
Debbie Lucas |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: APA |
Questions?
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)
Email: refdesk@dyc.edu
Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!
Guides and Handbooks
A Guide to Religious Ministries for Catholic Men and Women - Library Reference
150 Best Recession-proof Jobs – Library Reference
Best Jobs for the 21st Century – Library Reference
A Guide to Religious Ministries for Catholic Men and Women - Library Reference
New York State Department of Labor
What Color is Your Parachute? – Circulating Collection
Loading...
