This is the "Montante Family Library Subject Guide" page of the "Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature  

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2013 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=356047 Print Guide RSS Updates

Montante Family Library Subject Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Poetry

       

             

Today I had a rotten day.
As I was coming in from play
I accidentally stubbed my toes
and tripped and fell and whacked my nose.
I chipped a tooth. I cut my lip.
I scraped my knee. I hurt my hip.
I pulled my shoulder, tweaked my ear,
and got a bruise upon my rear.
I banged my elbow, barked my shin.
A welt is forming on my chin.
My pencil poked me in the thigh.
I got an eyelash in my eye.
I sprained my back. I wrenched my neck.
I'm feeling like a total wreck.
So that's the last time I refuse
when teacher says to tie my shoes.

--Kenn Nesbitt

Popular Poets for Kids

PBS Parents presents 10 most poplar children's poets.

Children's Poetry Foundation

The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary
organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture.

NCTE Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children

The National Council of Teachers of English wishes to recognize and foster excellence in children's poetry by encouraging its publication and by exploring ways to acquaint teachers and children with poetry.

Giggle Poetry

Lots of funny poems, poetry contests and ideas for educators on teaching poetry in fun and interesting ways.

Children's Poetry Selections available at the Montante Family Library

 

 

Notable Authors and Their Works 1812-1900

These are classic writings of wonderful adventure stories, mysteries, fantasies and love stories many of which are hundreds of years old and still being published today!

1812 Swiss Family Robison, Johann Wyss

1826 The Last of the Mohicans,James Fenimore Cooper

1843 Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens

1865 Alice's Adventure in Wonderland.  Lewis Carrol        

1865 Hans Brinker and the Silver Skates, Mary Elizabeth Maples Dodge

1868 Little Women, Louisa May Alcott

1872 Around the World in Eighty Days, Jules Vern

1876 The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Mark Twain

1877 Black Beauty, Anna Sewell

1883 Merry Adventures of Robin Hood, Howard Pyle

1883 Treasure Island, Robert Lewis Stevenson

1884 Heidi, Johanna Spyri

1886 Little Lord Faunteroy, Frances Hodgson Burnett

1892 The Adventures of Pinocchio, Carlo Collodi

1892 The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Arthur Conan Doyle

1894 The Jungle Book, Rudyard Kipling

Children's Collection

      Children's Books 4th Floor

The Children's Collection at the Montante Family Library is located on the 4th floor connected to the curriculum library.  We maintain a  collection of picture, easy readers, chapter, fiction, young adult, fairy tales, non fiction, classic literature, as well as graphic novels for children. In addition we have a small collection of bilingual children's books.  Please check our catalog and note that our books are color coded for age appropriate material.

** click on advanced search and make sure to check the juvenille collection

** To search the children's collection

Using our Interlibrary loan service we can get a book from another library

**Order a book through ILL

 

Journal Articles

              

Montante Family Library Literature Databases list primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of Literature. 

Curriculum Resource Center  Gives teachers fast access to thousands of easily reproduced handouts to supplement text and lesson plans used in middle school, high school, and junior college classrooms.

Teaching Books   TeachingBooks.net is an award-winning educational portal that helps teachers and librarians integrate multimedia resources that support trade books across the curriculum.

 

Request a Journal Article   The library now provides a document delivery service. Create a profile in ILLIAD and submit your request for any journal article you may be looking for and thelibrary will send it in pdf form to your DYC email.

 

Caldecott Award Winners

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The 2013 Caldecott Medal winner is:

This Is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen

      

Caldecott Medal & Honor Books, 1938-Present

Caldecott Selections available at the Montante Family Libary

Coretta Scott King Award Winners

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

The 2013 Author Award Winner is:

Hand in Hand by Andrea Davis Pinkney 

                                                        

Hand in Hand is a collective biography of ten well-known African American men who dramatically changed history. Each acted with fervor and rose to greatness through education and how they chose to live their lives.

The 2013 Illustrator Award Winner is:

In I, Too, Am America by Bryan Collier

                                                        

In I, Too, Am American offers a picture book rendition of Langston Hughes’ famous poem—“I, Too, Am America”—as a tribute to Pullman porters.

 

 

Coretta Scott King Book Awards - All Recipients, 1970-Present

Coretta Scott King Winning Selections available at the Montante Family Library

 

Governor General's Literary Award Winners

The Governor General's Literary Award is given in the fall of each year to honor the best in Canadian literature.

The Winner of Canada's 2012 Governor General's Award for Fiction is:

The Purchase by Linda Spalding

                                                            

The Governor General's Literary Award Recipients 1939-2012

The Governor General's Literary Award Winning selections at Montante Family Library

 

 

Newbery Award Winners

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The 2013 Newbery Medal winner is:

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

                                                        

Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-Present

Newbery Award Winning Selections available at Montante Family Library

Notable Websites

 

Association of Library Service to Children/ Graphic Novels

Chapter Books Goodreads

Children's Books Goodreads -Childrens genre: new releases, popular books reviews and recommendations.

Core Collection of Graphic Novels

Fairy Tales, by The Brothers Grimm - Project Gutenberg

Free Pintable Children's Books-DLTK-Teach -Free printable children's books for preschool, kindergarten and early grade school kids.

Hans Christian Andersen: Fairy Tales and Stories

KidsClick.  Is a web search site for kids designed by librarians

KidsReads

National Geographic Animals

Project Gutenberg Children's Literature

Reading Games/PBS KIDS - PBS KIDS Reading Games are designed to help children practice their reading skills while playing with their favorite PBS  friends.

Starfall's Learn to Read with Phonics -A free website to teach children to read with phonics. For preschool, kindergarten, and first grade.

Summer Reading at New York Libraries

WeatherWizKids


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sandy Costanza
Contact Info
Reference Desk 829-7747
Send Email
 

Questions?

Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746

**Please note that the reference desk is staffed with a librarian whenever the library is open. You may reach that person by calling the reference desk telephone number listed above. If you prefer to send a text or e-mail the librarian on duty will be happy to assist you.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!

Liberal Arts Department

D'Youville College Department of Liberal Arts
320 Porter Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14201
Phone: (716) 829-7608
Fax: (716) 829-7760
Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. — 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
Location: ALT 426 (Dr. Pauline Alt Building)
 
Chair
Dr. Todd Walter
Phone: (716) 829-7838
E-Mail: waltert@dyc.edu
 
Secretary
Martha Morales
Phone: (716) 829-7608
E-Mail: moralesm@dyc.edu

Beatrix Potter

The Tale of Peter Rabbit published in 1901 marks the beginning of the modern picture book.

"Once upon a time there were four little Rabbits, and their names were Flopsy, Mopsy, Cotton-tail and Peter."

Children's Magazines

American Girl- girls of all ages

Boy's Life- Official magazine  of the Boy Scouts of America

Highlights- Fun with a Purpose! Ages 6-12yrs

Jack and Jill 7-10yrs

LadyBug Magazine- Ages 3-6yrs

National Geographic Kids

Ranger Rick- National Wildlife Federation  nature magazine for kids aged 7 and up

Science World Grades 6-10

Spider Ages 6-9

Sports Illustrated KIDS

Time for Kids Grades K-6

Turtle- preschool magazine which teaches kids about health, safety and nutrition while entertaining them.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip