This is the "Montante Family Library Subject Guide" page of the " RN to BSN Nursing Distance Learning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RN to BSN Nursing Distance Learning  

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates
Montante Family Library Subject Guide Print Page

Anatomy Resources

Atlas of the Human Body - From the American Medical Association

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body Online - The edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the original 1918 publication, and a subject index with 13,000 entries.

IMAIOS E-Anatomy - is an online atlas of human anatomy for physicians, radiologists, medical students and radiographers. This site contains medical images of the whole human body in CT/MRI, etc, with labeling in various languages including English and Chinese. It is very useful for self-learning.

Visible Body - DYC has access to: Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology Animations, Heart & Circulatory Premium, Muscle Premium, and Skeleton Premium.


Nursing Theorists

Notable Websites

American Cancer Society- The American Cancer Society is a nationwide, community-based voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem.

American Diabetes Association- Our mission is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.

American Heart Association- Our mission is to build healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention- CDC′s Mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.

Erie County Department of Health- The Mission of the Erie County Department of Health is to protect the public's health, to prevent disease and premature death through promotion of healthy living and wellness.

Healthy People 2020 - Identifies the most significant and preventable health threats and establishes national goals to reduce these threats.

NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics) - Provided by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), this site includes statistical data about U.S. public health topics, such as health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, and aging.

National Institute of Nursing Research, NIH - Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, this site supports clinical and basic research on the care of individuals across the life span.

New York State Health Department - Contains statistics on health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, etc., in New York communities. 

Resources for Nurses and Families - This searchable index of health resources provides a range of health information for nurses and families in general.

The Merck Manual is an online collection of health care books for medical professionals and consumers.

US Food and Drug Administration. Is a governmental agency responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, effectiveness, quality, and security of human and veterinary drugs, vaccines and other biological products, medical devices, most of our nation’s food supply, all cosmetics, dietary supplements, and products that give off radiation.


Journal Articles


Credo Reference  -Online access to medical dictionaries and encyclopedias

Google Scholar - Provides many peer reviewed, full text articles

Lippincott's Nursing  this is a wonderful resource for free up-to-date full text articles. ** remember to select pdf version to download the full text version of your article

Montante Family Library Nursing Databases list primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of nursing.

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery

All Interlibrary loan and document delivery items must be ordered through an ILLIAD account.

**The library now provides a document delivery service Create an account in ILLIAD and submit your request for any journal article you may be looking for and the library will send it in pdf form to your DYC email .

Already have an ILLIAD account.........Request a Journal Article

 Information regarding Remote Data Base Access

Full Text Digital Library

The following is a sample of  available  full text ebooks found in the DYC catalog.

Click on the image below for full text access.

cover image       cover image        cover image     cover image  

  cover image    cover image   cover image  cover image

   cover image  Product Details cover image  Product Details

  cover image      cover image         cover image     cover image

Product Details   cover image      cover image       cover image

  cover image    cover image      cover image

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sandy Costanza
Contact Info
Reference Desk 829-7747
Send Email

Nursing Department

D'Youville College School of Nursing RN to BSN Program

Martha Kershaw

Coordinator of RN to BSN Online Program
Assistant Professor
School of Nursing

(716) 829-8344



Research Desk: 716-829-7747

DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)


Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746

**Please note that the reference desk is staffed with a librarian whenever the library is open. You may reach that person by calling the reference desk telephone listed above. If you prefer to send a text or e-mail the librarian on duty will be happy to assist you.

Library Hours

Citing Sources

For APA style, as well as MLA, AMA and Chicago styles, we've got you covered:

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!


Loading  Loading...