This is the "Montante Family Library Subject Guide" page of the "Educational Leadership" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Educational Leadership  

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2012 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/edleadership Print Guide RSS Updates
Montante Family Library Subject Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to Subject Guides

Subject guides assist students who are completing research for an assignment in their major, or an elective or required course.  Students can easily find journal articles (online databases), encyclopedias and dictionaries, information for professional development and other discipline specific statistics. If you need more information, please see a Reference Librarian at the 1st Floor Research Desk, email refdesk@dyc.edu or telephone 716-829-7747.

 

Dictionaries

 

Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers - Credo Reference

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology - Credo Reference

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Credo Reference

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education – Library Reference

Penguin Dictionary of Psychology - Credo Reference

EdSource Glossary Terms - Glossary of professional jargon, provided by EdSource.

 

Encyclopedias

 

Statistics

The Almanac of American Education - Library Reference

Education State Rankings – Library Reference

Education Statistics (EdStats) Developed by the World Bank’s Education Group of the Human Development Network in collaboration with the Development Economics Vice Presidency (DEC), EdStats is a comprehensive education statistics database that compiles data from a variety of national and international sources and provides information on key education topics.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. This website provides clear, complete information about NCES and serves the research and education communities.

World Data on Education Regularly improved and expanded using the information included in the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)’s National Reports on the Development of Education and supplemented with data from other sources, this online database contains detailed information on the education systems of 161 countries worldwide – paying close attention to curriculum issues.  Each individual country profile can be downloaded in PDF format.

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Subscription Databases  Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text and citations for articles in the field of educational leadership.

 

Philosophy and Sociology of Education

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology - Credo Reference

Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence - Library Circulating

Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers - Credo Reference

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Credo Reference

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology - Credo Reference

Collins Dictionary of Sociology - Credo Reference

A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan - Credo Reference

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Use this search interface to navigate the web by philosopher or philosophy

Encyclopedia of Informal Education To explore informal education, lifelong learning and social action, provided by infed.org, a independent and not-for-profit group

Stanford University Encyclopedia of Philosophy Provided by Stanford University

World of Sociology, Gale - Credo Reference

 

Certification

Guide to the Standards New York State United Teachers site for new state examination standards. Sample School District test preparation sites:

National Library of Education The world's largest federally funded library devoted solely to education.

New York State Education Department State governmental education site. Includes links, archives, certification information, employment opportunities, reports, research, etc.

New York State Education Department - Office of Teaching Initiatives Provides information on New York State certification, which is required for all teachers, administrators, teaching assistants, and pupil personnel professionals employed in the state's public schools.

Requirements for Certification: Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary Schools, Secondary Schools, Junior Colleges - Library Reference

Teacher Certification Requirements - Library Reference

U.S. Department of Education ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.

 

Debbie Lucas-Alfieri

Profile Image
Debbie Lucas
Contact Info
716-829-7764 Office
716-829-7747 Research Desk
Send Email
Subjects:
APA Citation
 

Questions?

Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746

 

Careers

United States Department of Labor Occupational Outlook Handbook Features descriptions and summary information on careers in Education Administration, working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations and additional information sources.

 

 

Professional Organizations

American Association of School Administrators (AASA) "The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across the United States. AASA members range from chief executive officers, superintendents and senior level school administrators to cabinet members, professors and aspiring school system leaders."

The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) "The mission of the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) is to lead in the advocacy and support for elementary and middle level principals and other education leaders in their commitment for all children."

The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) Dedicated to promoting excellence in school leadership, NASSP is an organization of middle and high school principals, assistant principals and aspiring school leaders from across the U.S. and around the world. 

New York State Council of School Superintendents (NYSCOSS) NYSCOSS is a professional organization with over a century of service to school superintendents in New York State. In addition to advocating for public education and its superintendents, the Council provides its members with professional development opportunities and publications and personal services.

School Administrators Association of New York State (SAANYS) Maintaining its mission to support administrators with the best in representation and service, SAANYS has been serving New York's school leaders for over three decades. Whether it be negotiating contracts or having discussions with the commissioner, SAANYS keeps its members at the forefront of educational change through strong legislative representation, legal support and professional growth opportunities.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip