Library Hours
Click here to see the library's hours.
R2 Online Library
The R2 Online Library provides online access to over 80 health science books within the fields of general medicine, nursing, and allied health. The books below are some of the e-books available via R2 that are specific to Exercise and Sports Studies.
Reference Materials
Certification & Licensure
- American College of Sports MedicineIncludes information on the ACSM’s Certified Personal TrainerSM and Health/Fitness Instructor programs
- National Strength and Conditioning AssociationAn international nonprofit educational association which brings together a diverse group of professionals from the sport science, athletic, allied health, and fitness industries. These individuals are all in pursuit of achieving a common goal—the utilization of proper strength training and conditioning to improve athletic performance and fitness.
Exercise and Sports Studies
These are the recommended databases to use when doing research in the field of Exercise and Sports Studies. They will provide the best access to full text articles and citations in the Exercise and Sports Studies field.
Online Resources
- Primal Pictures 3D AnatomyPrimal Pictures' anatomy visuals are accompanied by complete and medically accurate 3Danimations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedues. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.
- Atlas of the Human BodyThis visual aid from the American Medical Association's Patient Education Resources page provides anatomy and medical illustrations for the human body.
- e-AnatomyAward-winning interactive atlas of human anatomy provided by Campus Medica (requires free online registration).
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body OnlineThe Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings - many in color - from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is an alternative to using the online databases to search for journal articles. Simply put in your search terms and hit search. When used on campus, Google Scholar will automatically recognize D'Youville College holdings, but when using Google Scholar from home, there are three simple steps to follow:
-click on the wheel in the upper right corner
-select Scholar Preferences
-enter D'Youville College Library under Library Links
To find out if the full text of the article is available, click on either Full Text at DYC link to the right of the article citation, or Resources at DYC under the article citation. Sometimes there will be free PDFs of articles available as well; if there is, there will be a link to the right of the article citation as well.
e-Dictionaries
- Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
- Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
- Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
- Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
- Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine
- Oxford Medical Reference Collection
- Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Professional Organizations
- American College of Sports MedicineThe largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world.
- American Physical Therapy AssociationA national professional organization whose goal is to foster advancements in physical therapy practice, research and education.
- National Academy of Sports MedicineA leader in personal trainer certification, continuing education, solutions and tools for health, fitness, sports performance and sports medicine professionals.
- National Athletic Trainers’ AssociationA professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession.
- National Strength and Conditioning AssociationAn international nonprofit educational association which brings together a diverse group of professionals from the sport science, athletic, allied health and fitness industries. These individuals are all in pursuit of achieving a common goal—the utilization of proper strength training and conditioning to improve athletic performance and fitness.
Debbie Lucas-Alfieri |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: APA Citation |
Questions?
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)
Email: refdesk@dyc.edu
Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!
Statistics
- National Center for Health StatisticsProvided by the Centers for Disease Control, this site includes statistical data about U.S. public health topics such as health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, and aging.


Loading...
