This is the "Montante Family Library Subject Guide" page of the "Health Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Education  

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2013 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/healtheducation Print Guide RSS Updates
Montante Family Library Subject Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Health Education

            "Take care of your body

                it's the only place

                 you have to live."

                      - Jim Rohn-

Standards and Programs

Health Care Standards: Official Directory Library Reference

Healthy Youth: CDC's School Health Education Resources (SHER) CDC's School Health Education Resources (SHER) provides access to school health education available from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

National Health Education Standards The National Health Education Standards are written expectations for what students should know and be able to do by grades 2, 5, 8, and 12 to promote personal, family, and community health. The standards provide a framework for curriculum development and selection, instruction, and student assessment in health education.

Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool (HECAT) The Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool (HECAT) can help school districts, schools, and others conduct a clear, complete, and consistent analysis of health education curricula. The HECAT results can help schools select or develop appropriate and effective health education curricula and improve the delivery of health education.

Online and Distance Learning: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications Library Reference

Journal Articles

                   

Montante Family Library Health Education Databases 

Lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of health education.

The library now provides a document delivery service. Create a profile in ILLIAD and submit your request for any journal article you may be looking for and the library will send it in pdf form to your DYC email .

Request a Journal Article

R2 Full Text Digital Resources


R2 Online Library is an online service providing access to health science book contents. Over 80 titles to choose from in general medicine, nursing and allied health fields, including but not limited to: Health Promotion, Ethics of Health Care, Health Assessment Through the Lifespan, Integrative Health Promotion, Conducting Clinical Research, Designing Clinical Research, Medical Law, Ethics and Bioethics

Government Resources

CDC Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, health promotion and health education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.

ED Publications Publications provided by the U.S. Department of Education, many articles and documents available full-text through ERIC

Erie County Department of Health- The Mission of the Erie County Department of Health is to protect the public's health, to prevent disease and premature death through promotion of healthy living and wellness

Healthy People 2020 - Identifies the most significant and preventable health threats and establishes national goals to reduce these threats.

National Institutes of Health  NIH is the steward of medical and behavioral research for the Nation. Its mission is science in pursuit of fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the  application of that knowledge to extend healthy life and reduce the burdens of illness and  disability.

NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics) - Provided by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), this site includes statistical data about U.S. public health topics, such as health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, and aging.

New York State Health Department - Contains statistics on health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, etc., in New York communities. 

U.S. Department of Education  Mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access to education

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services  United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

US Department of Labor Occupational Safety & Health Administration Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing a safe and healthy workplace for their employees. OSHA's role is to promote the safety and health of America's working men and women.

U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions  This website contains information on Committee legislation, hearings and markups, as well as access to Committee hearing testimony. It also contains links to all federal agencies that are charged with enforcing federal laws related to health care.

World Health Organization  Responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sandy Costanza
Contact Info
Reference Desk 829-7747
Send Email
 

Questions?

Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746

**Please note that the reference desk is staffed with a librarian whenever the library is open. You may reach that person by calling the reference desk telephone listed above. If you prefer to send a text or e-mail the librarian on duty will be happy to assist you.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!

Health Administration Department

D'Youville College Department of Health Services Administration
320 Porter Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14201
Phone: (716) 829-7612
Fax: (716) 829-8184
Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. — 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
Location: KAB 442 (Koessler Administration Building)
Chair
Dr. Lisa Rafalson
Phone: (716) 829-8489
E-Mail: rafalson@dyc.edu
Secretary
Margaret Harrison
Phone: (716) 829-7612
E-Mail: harrison@dyc.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip