Welcome to the History Subject Guide! This subject guide includes information on where to find History resources such as journal articles, books, professional resources, and more.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2013
Click here to see the library's hours.
These are the recommended databases to use when doing research in the field of History. They will provide the best access to full text articles and citations in the History field.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an alternative to using the online databases to search for journal articles. Simply put in your search terms and hit search. When used on campus, Google Scholar will automatically recognize D'Youville College holdings, but when using Google Scholar from home, there are three simple steps to follow:
-click on the wheel in the upper right corner
-select Scholar Preferences
-enter D'Youville College Library under Library Links
To find out if the full text of the article is available, click on either Full Text at DYC link to the right of the article citation, or Resources at DYC under the article citation. Sometimes there will be free PDFs of articles available as well; if there is, there will be a link to the right of the article citation as well.
- American Memory
The Library of Congress provides a digital record of American history in written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. These materials document the American experience and chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas and continue to shape America.
- Ancestors in America
This companion site to the PBS series "Ancestors in the Americas," includes an Asian American timeline and links to sites on the history of Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, Pacific Islander and Southeast Asians who settled in the New World.
This site offers numerous links to resources to assist genealogists and historians with their research. Just some of the topics included are: local architecture, vital records, historic Buffalo businesses and their products. Tips on how to research are also included, along with 19th - 20th century photographs, the “Ten Best Local History and Genealogy Web sites” and much more.
- Guides to Genealogical Research
Compiled by the Library of Congress for the novice genealogist, this selected list of references includes introductory books about genealogical research in the United States. Original, printed, and microfilmed essential resources and useful search strategies are covered.
- Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library (MHL) is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. The growing collection of digitized medical rare books (10,000+ so far) is available through the Internet Archive.
- Western New York Legacy
Provided by the Western New York Library Resources Council (WNYLRC), the goal of this project is to provide online access to materials that document the rich cultural heritage of the Western New York region. Materials found at this site include: manuscripts; photographs; maps; drawings; books; artifacts; and audio files.
- American Anthropological Association (AAA)
Formed in 1902 to promote the science of anthropology; support the efforts of American anthropologists; foster anthropological societies; serve as a bond among American anthropologists and to publish and encourage the publication of anthropology-related literature, the AAA is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology.
- American Historical Association (AHA)
The largest historical society in the United States, the AHA was founded in 1884 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research. The AHA serves more than 14,000 history professionals, representing every historical period and geographical area.
- The Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society (BECHS)
Founded by Millard Fillmore in 1862 and designated by him to be the “grand repository of everything calculated to throw light on our history”, the BECHS collects and preserves of the artifacts and records of Western New York history, maintaining manuscript, photographic and rare book collections and extensive genealogical resources.
- Canadian Historical Association (CHA)
Founded in 1922, the CHA is a bilingual organization dedicated to scholarship in all fields of history. The CHA represents the interests of historians and the heritage community to government, archives, granting and other agencies; organizes conferences; publishes the best of Canadian historical scholarship; and awards a range of prizes to historians who have produced exceptional work.
- National Genealogical Society (NGS)
The NGS, a non-profit organization founded in 1903, is the premier national society for everyone from the beginner to the most advanced genealogist and an indispensable resource for genealogists and family historians seeking excellence in educational offerings, publications and materials, research and research guidance, and opportunities to interact with others.
- New York Historical Society (N-YHS)
N-YHS is dedicated to fostering research and presenting exhibitions and public programs that demonstrate the vitality of New York City and State’s history and the influence it has had on today’s world. Founded in 1804, the Society’s holdings cover four centuries of American history and include one of the world’s greatest collections of historical artifacts, American art and other materials documenting the history of the United States.
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)