This is the "Montante Family Library Subject Guide" page of the "Information Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Technology  

Welcome to the Information Technology Subject Guide! This subject guide includes information on where to find Information Technology resources such as journal articles, books, professional resources, and more.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2013 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/it Print Guide RSS Updates
Montante Family Library Subject Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

Click here to see the library's hours.

 

Information Security

        

Cyber Crime 

Cyber Warfare and Cyber Terrorism 

The Future of the Internet and How to Stop It 

Information Security: Principles and Practice 

Interagency Working Group on Cyber Security and Information Assurance (CSIA IWG) - CSIA is a subcommittee of the Federal Networking and Information Technology Research and Development (NITRD) Program. CSIA agencies work to protect the integrity of computer- and network-based systems. Internet and network security, software security, and systems security are just a few of the focus areas.

United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) - US-CERT provides "response support and defense against cyber attacks for the Federal Civil Executive Branch . . . and information sharing and collaboration with state and local government, industry and international partners."  US-CERT works with state and local governments, federal agencies, the IT industry, researchers, and others to share cyber security information with the public.

Career Guides

  • U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Outlook Handbook
    The OOH features descriptions and summary information on Computer Support Specialists, Computer Systems Analysts, Computer Scientists, Computer Database Administrators, Computer Programmers, Computer Software Engineers, Computer and Information Systems Managers and more. Working conditions, job outlook, training and educational requirements, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources are discussed.
 

Associations and Professional Organizations

Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE) - AACE is "an international, not-for-profit, educational organization with the mission of advancing Information Technology in Education and E-Learning research, development, learning, and its practical application."

Association for Information Systems (AIS) - AIS is "a professional organization whose purpose is to serve as the premier global organization for academics specializing in Information Systems."

Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) - Offering information on current technology and business issues along with technology and leadership education, AITP is "the leading worldwide society of information technology business professionals."

Canada's Association of Information Technology Professionals (CIPS) - CIPS is the professional association for Information Technology (IT) practitioners in Canada that represents more than 6,000 IT professionals on important issues affecting the IT industry and profession.

The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) - ISSA is a "not-for-profit, international organization of information security professionals and practitioners. It provides educational forums, publications and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill and professional growth of its members."

The New York State Association for Computers and Technologies in Education (NYSCATE) - In cooperation with the New York State Education Department (NYSED), NYSCATE is "a non-profit, professional organization representing more than 2,000 technology using educators and administrators in New York State."

Debbie Lucas-Alfieri

Profile Image
Debbie Lucas
Contact Info
716-829-7764 Office
716-829-7747 Research Desk
Send Email
Subjects:
APA Citation
 

Questions?

Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746

Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar is an alternative to using the online databases to search for journal articles. Simply put in your search terms and hit search. When used on campus, Google Scholar will automatically recognize D'Youville College holdings, but when using Google Scholar from home, there are three simple steps to follow:

    -click on the wheel in the upper right corner
    -select Scholar Preferences
    -enter D'Youville College Library under Library Links

    To find out if the full text of the article is available, click on either Full Text at DYC link to the right of the article citation, or Resources at DYC under the article citation. Sometimes there will be free PDFs of articles available as well; if there is, there will be a link to the right of the article citation as well.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip