Library Hours
Click here to see the library's hours.
Health Care Law
Business Law
Business law : a hands-on approach
Business law and the regulation of business
Business law : principles and cases in the legal environment
Business law : text and summarized cases : legal, ethical, global, and corporate environment
International business law : text, cases, and readings
International business transactions in a nutshell
Smith and Roberson's business law
West's business law : text and cases : legal, ethical, international, and e-commerce environment
Journal Articles & Cases
- Recommended Law DatabasesThese are the recommended databases for finding journal articles and case law. They will provide the best access to full text articles, cases, and citations in the legal field.
- WestlawComprehensive legal content, including primary law, legal analysis, and litigation materials. Also includes a large number of business resources to search for news, company records and SEC filings. Search legal materials via citatation, keyword or using the Westlaw Keycite system.
- LexisNexis AcademicThis database is primarily used for legal information, business research and current news and events. Contains the full-text of Federal and State codes, laws, court cases and regulations. Use to search for information on company executives, industry, public and private company information from sources such as S&P, Hoover’s and the SEC. Also contains full-text news articles from major newspapers and trade journals.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is an alternative to using the online databases to search for journal articles, case law, and legal opinions. Simply put in your search terms and hit search. Under advanced search you can limit your search to specific court opinions, as well as state versus federal opinion. When used on campus, Google Scholar will automatically recognize D'Youville College holdings, but when using Google Scholar from home, there are three simple steps to follow:
-click on the wheel in the upper right corner
-select Scholar Preferences
-enter D'Youville College Library under Library Links
To find out if the full text of the article is available, click on either Full Text at DYC link to the right of the article citation, or Resources at DYC under the article citation. Sometimes there will be free PDFs of articles available as well; if there is, there will be a link to the right of the article citation as well.
Online Resources
Buffalo Law Journal - Established in 1929, the Buffalo Law Journal contains "legal and business news, public record, court notices, job listings and more." A subscription is required for full online access, but the public site contains many news stories and various full-text notices.
Buffalo Law Review - "Founded in 1951, the Buffalo Law Review is a generalist law review that publishes articles by practitioners, professors, and students in all areas of the law. The Buffalo Law Review has a subscription base of well over 600 institutions and individuals. The Buffalo Law Review currently publishes five issues per year with each issue containing approximately four articles and one member-written comment per issue." (See LexisNexis Academic Universe database for issues dated November 1999 to present.)
Code of Federal Regulations - Once a bill becomes a law, the regulations that instruct parties how to execute that law must be written. You can find these federal regulations in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The CFR updates annually.
Constitution of the State of New York
Constitution of the United States of America
Federal Register - "Published daily [Monday-Friday] by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents."
FindLaw - Legal information for the public and legal professionals: includes cases and codes, local lawyer search, resources for law students, jurisdictions, and more.
Harvard Law Review - Published 8 times annually and run by Harvard law students, it contains legal articles by professors, judges, and law students. Only the most current journal is free online.
Legal Information Institute - Legal information organized by topic from Cornell Law School.
New York State Legislature - Contains both Assembly and Senate bills & laws.
New York State Supreme Court - Website of the Civil Branch of the Supreme Court of the State of New York, New York County: "Our court is the highest trial court for civil cases in the state court system in New York County. The court traces its origins to the year 1691 and is the oldest continuously-serving court of general jurisdiction in the United States. We have designed this web site to provide useful information about our court to the public, actual or prospective jurors, and attorneys."
New York State Unified Court System - Provides civil court structure, library catalog, tools for students and educators, and links to various websites concerning the New York legal system. Also includes exam postings and job postings for careers with the NYSUCS.
Supreme Court of the United States - Official site provides links to court rulings, opinions, dockets, history, jobs, and much more.
THOMAS (Library of Congress) - Named after Thomas Jefferson, this comprehensive site offers federal bill tracking, searchable by bill number, sponsor, or congress. It also features basic information about the legislative process in the U.S., the Constitution, and the Declaration of Independence.
U.S. Courts: The Federal Judiciary - Provides links to U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Court of Appeals, U.S. District Courts, and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts.
Debbie Lucas-Alfieri |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: APA Citation |
Questions?
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)
Email: refdesk@dyc.edu
Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!
Licensure & Certification
New York State Unified Court System—Attorney Registration - "A listing of attorneys registered to practice in the State of New York."
New York State Board of Law Examiners - "Operating under the auspices of the New York State Court of Appeals, the New York State Board of Law Examiners is responsible for administering the bar examination to candidates seeking admission to practice law in the State of New York."



Loading...
