Anatomy Resources

Atlas of the Human Body - From the American Medical Association
Basic Atlas of sectional Anatomy with Coorelated Imaging - Library Reference
Gray’s Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice - Library Reference
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body Online - The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the original 1918 publication, and a subject index with 13,000 entries.
Primal Pictures 3-D Anatomy - Derived from genuine medical scan data, and interpreted by a team of anatomists, it translates into three-dimensional images by graphics specialists. Primal Pictures serves as the only complete and medically accurate 3D model of human anatomy. The visuals accompany 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.
Licensure/Certification
National Council of State Boards of Nursing - This site provides information on state boards of nursing, NCLEX examinations, license verification and international nurses, as well as current news.
NCLEX Examination - This site provides information on both the NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN examinations. Online registration, guidelines and requirements are included.
New York State Nursing Home Administrator Licensure Application Instructions - This site is provided through the New York State Health Department, and it offers instruction and guidelines for licensure application.
Office of the Professions - This site provides NYS license requirements; online registration and renewal; laws, rules and regulations; application forms; child abuse training; infection control training and scholarships, as well as grants and loans information.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology - Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Global Health - Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior - Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management - Library Reference
International Encyclopedia of Public Health- Library Reference
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine- Library Reference
The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer - Library Reference
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health- Library Reference
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health - Library Reference
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health - Library Reference
The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia - Credo Reference
Journal Articles


Montante Family Library Nursing Databases list primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of nursing.
Lippincott's Nursing Center.com this is a wonderful resource for free up-to-date full text articles. ** remember to select pdf version to download the full text version of your article
R2 Full Text Digital Library
R2 Online Library is a Full Text online service providing access to health science book contents. Over 80 titles to choose from in general medicine, nursing and allied health fields including nursing care plans, drug calculations, nursing theorists and more...
Notable Websites
American Cancer Society- The American Cancer Society is a nationwide, community-based voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem.
American Diabetes Association- Our mission is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes
American Heart Association- Our mission is to build healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention- CDC′s Mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
Erie County Department of Health- The Mission of the Erie County Department of Health is to protect the public's health, to prevent disease and premature death through promotion of healthy living and wellness
Healthy People 2020 - Identifies the most significant and preventable health threats and establishes national goals to reduce these threats.
NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics) - Provided by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), this site includes statistical data about U.S. public health topics, such as health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, and aging.
National Institute of Nursing Research, NIH - Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, this site supports clinical and basic research on the care of individuals across the life span.
New York State Health Department - Contains statistics on health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, etc., in New York communities.
Resources for Nurses and Families - This searchable index of health resources provides a range of health information for nurses and families in general.
The Merck Manual is an online collection of health care books for medical professionals and consumers.
Professional Associations
American Academy of Nurse Practitioners - A comprehensive site with links to conferences, legislation, education and research, funding opportunities, and related information.
American College of Nurse Practitioners - This site is produced by the American College of Nurse Practitioners (ACNP), a national non-profit membership organization, and it focuses on advocacy for nurse practitioners, with information about current legislative, regulatory and clinical practice issues.
American Nurses Association - The American Nurses Association is a professional organization representing the nation's 2.6 million registered nurses through 54 constituent state associations and 13 organizational affiliates. ANA seeks to advance the nursing profession by promoting standards of nursing practice and by lobbying Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
Canadian Nurses Association - The Canadian Nurses Association is a federation of 11 provincial and territorial nursing associations representing more than 120,000 registered nurses. The goal of the CNA is to provide the public with quality nursing care through public policy initiatives, the advancement of global health and equity, and through nursing profession advocacy.
Canadian Nursing Students' Association - The Canadian Nursing Students' Association (CNSA)/L’Association des Etudiant(e)s Infirmier(ere) (AEIC) is the representative body of Canadian nursing students in diploma and baccalaureate registered nursing programs. Its goal is to provide information and promotion of the legal, ethical, professional, and educational components of the nursing profession.
National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners - NAPNAP is a specialty nursing organization representing health practitioners working with infants, children, adolescents and young adults.
National League for Nursing - The NLN seeks to advance the nursing profession through research, professional development, testing, products and services. Their mission is to prepare the nursing workforce to meet the needs of diverse populations in the health care environment.
National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties - The NONPF promotes nurse practitioner education, supports development of instructional skills and scientific investigation and offers a variety of resources for nurse practitioner faculty.
New York State Nurses Association - This is the nation's oldest and largest state professional association for registered nurses. It is also New York's largest union solely dedicated to promoting the interests of RNs and their patients.
Nurse Practitioner Alternatives in Education, Inc. - Focused on the nurse practitioner, this organization develops continuing education programs, researches health policy, authors professional texts and articles and promotes the role of the nurse practitioner to the media, health care industry and professional groups. Website includes a “frequently asked questions” page about the profession.
Ontario Nurses' Association - Ontario Nurses’ Association (ONA) is a trade union representing 48,000 registered nurses and allied health professionals working in hospitals, long-term care facilities, public health, community agencies and industry in Ontario. The ONA assists members in matters of contract interpretations, contract enforcement and patient care concerns.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Questions?
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)
Email: refdesk@dyc.edu
Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!
Nursing Theorists
We maintain a large collection of nursing theorists and their original works. Please search our catalog using a subject search or contact a librarian for assistance

Virginia Henderson
Dorothy Johnson
Imogene King
Katherine Kolcaba
Madeleine Leininger
Myra Levine
Ramona Mercer
Betty Neuman
Margaret Newman
Florence Nightengale
Dorothea Orem
Ida Jean Orlando
Rosemarie Rizzo Parse
Hildegard Peplau
Martha Rogers
Callista Roy
Joyce Travelbee
Jean Watson
Nursing Department
D'Youville College School of Nursing
320 Porter AvenueBuffalo, NY 14202
Phone: (716) 829-7701
Fax: (716) 829-8159
Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. — 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
Location: ALT 506, (Dr. Pauline Alt Building)

Loading...
