Montante Family Library Subject Guide
This is the "Physician Assistant" page of the "Physician Assistant" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physician Assistant  

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2014 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/pa Print Guide RSS Updates

Physician Assistant Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Online Reference Resources

R2 Digital Library
Browse R2 Digital Library, a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers.


Cover Art
Essential Clinical Procedures - Richard W. Dehn; David P. Asprey
ISBN: 9781455707812
Publication Date: 2013-04-05

Cover Art
Cases in Clinical Medicine - Pamela Moyers Scott
ISBN: 9780763771805
Publication Date: 2011-01-12




 

Professional Organizations

American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) is the only national organization that represents PAs in all specialties and all employment settings. Includes an events calendar, professional issues section, and licensing information.

Canadian Association of Physician Assistants (CAPA)  is a leading Canadian national professional organization which advocates for PAs. Offers information on certification, employment opportunities, and the latest news.

New York State Society of Physician Assistants (NYSSPA)  is the representative voice for over 7,000 PAs in all specialties and practice settings within the State of New York.

Physician Assistant Education Association (PAEA) is the only national organization representing PA educational programs in the United States. Contains information for both faculty and students including an interactive map of PA programs in the United States and archives of the PAEA Networker, a monthly web-based newsletter.

Society of Emergency Physician Assistants (SEMPA) is the national organization representing emergency medicine PAs.

Student Academy of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (SAAAPA) is the official student organization for PAs.  Contains useful and current information related to being a PA student and the PA profession.

Western New York Physician Assistant Association (WNYPAA) is a professional association for the advancement of physician assistants in the Western New York region.

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Physician Assistant Databases  List of primary databases used to find full-text articles and abstracts in the physician assistant field.

Directory of Public Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.  Open access means that the full text of the articles is free.  The database is easily filtered by subject and searched using keywords.

Digital Commons Network  Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Found the perfect article but can't find the full text?  The library provides a document delivery service. Create a profile in ILLIAD and submit your request for any journal article and the library will deliver a pdf of the article to your ILLiad account.

Request a Journal Article

Checking the Library to Find Full Text

 

Subject Specific Library Resources



Cover Art
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2015 - Maxine Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow
Call Number: RC71 .C87 2015
ISBN: 9780071824866
Publication Date: 2014-09-23

Cover Art
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests - Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana
Call Number: RB38.2 .P34 2010
ISBN: 9780323057479
Publication Date: 2009-10-07

Cover Art
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking - Lynn S. Bickley
Call Number: RC76 .B38 2009
ISBN: 9780781780582
Publication Date: 2008-12-11

Cover Art
Basic Concepts in Pharmacology - Janet Stringer
Call Number: RM301.14 .S77 2011
ISBN: 9780071741040
Publication Date: 2011-04-18

 

Evidence-Based Practice

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine

Aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through conferences, workshops and EBM tools so that all health care professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

The Cochrane Collaboration

Cochrane is a global independent network of health practitioners, researchers, patient advocates and others, responding to the challenge of making the vast amounts of evidence generated through research useful for informing decisions about health.  This link provides a summary on evidence-based health care as well as another link to the Cochrane Handbook.  

Gordon GuyattDrummond RennieMaureen MeadeDeborah Cook
Call Number: R723.7 .U84 2008
ISBN:  9780071590341
Publication Date: 2008-05-21
Information on how to utilize research articles about: therapy or prevention, diagnostic tests, prognosis, harm, and systematic reviews.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jackie Coffey Scott
Contact Info
716-829-7747 Research Desk
Send Email
 

Get Help

Research Desk: 716-829-7747

Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard

(Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Text-a-Librarian:
Text "refdesk" to 66746

Anatomy Resources

Atlas of the Human Body This visual aid, from the American Medical Association’s Patient Education Resources page, provides anatomy and medical illustrations for the human body.

Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice 

               

Available in the library or online

Primal Pictures 3-D Anatomy Derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by graphics specialists, Primal Pictures was created to serve as the only complete and medically accurate 3D model of human anatomy. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders

                   

 

 

Career Guides, Certification and Licensure

NCCPA-Connect  The National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) site contains certification guidelines and state by state licensing board information.

NYSED’s Office of the Professions The New York State Education Department’s Office of the Professions website provides requirements for licensure as a registered physician assistant in New York State

The U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Outlook Handbook

Features information on physician assistant careers, discussing working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip