Questions?
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)
Email: refdesk@dyc.edu
Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is an alternative to using the online databases to search for journal articles. Simply put in your search terms and hit search. When used on campus, Google Scholar will automatically recognize D'Youville College holdings, but when using Google Scholar from home, there are three simple steps to follow:
-click on the wheel in the upper right corner
-select Scholar Preferences
-enter D'Youville College Library under Library Links
To find out if the full text of the article is available, click on either Full Text at DYC link to the right of the article citation, or Resources at DYC under the article citation. Sometimes there will be free PDFs of articles available as well; if there is, there will be a link to the right of the article citation as well.
Professional Organization Websites
American Catholic Philosophical Association (ACPA) Cultivating the Catholic philosophical heritage, the ACPA relies upon classical sources in order to analyze major philosophers of all eras and to respond to contemporary philosophical issues.
American Philosophical Association (APA) As the major professional organization for philosophers in the United States, the mission of the APA is to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.
The Canadian Philosophical Association (CPA-ACP) Made up principally of teachers and students of philosophy, the “resolutely bilingual” ACP-PCA is devoted to professional philosophical activity in Canada.
The Society for Women in Philosophy (SWIP) SWIP was started in 1972 to advance and encourage women in philosophy. This site includes links to articles, reading lists, Feminist Theory resources, a Feminist Philosophy blog and more.
Introduction to Subject Guides
Subject guides assist students who are completing research for an assignment in their major, or an elective or required course. Students can easily find journal articles (online databases), encyclopedias and dictionaries, information for professional development and other discipline specific statistics. If you need more information, please see a Reference Librarian at the 1st Floor Research Desk, email refdesk@dyc.edu or telephone 716-829-7747.
Journal Articles
Dictionaries
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers –available online
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy – available online
A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan – Credo Reference
Dictionary of World Philosophy – Credo Reference
Dictionary of Existentialism – Credo Reference
Great Thinkers A-Z – Library Reference
One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers – Library Reference
Philosophical Dictionary – Library Reference
Encyclopedias
The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy – Library Circulating
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy – Library Reference
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy – Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy – Credo Reference
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy – Library Reference
Philosophy of Meaning, Knowledge and Value in the Twentieth Century – Library Reference
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Maintained by Stanford University, each entry in this resource is maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. All content maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research, and every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition for proper citation purposes.
Debbie Lucas-Alfieri |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: APA Citation |
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!
A quote from Socrates
A quote from Margaret Mead
Never depend upon institutions or government to solve any problem. All social movements are founded by, guided by, motivated and seen through by the passion of individuals.


Loading...
