Thought of the day.....

Professional Organizations
The American Psychological Association (APA) The APA is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States and is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
The American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) The largest organized group of psychology graduate students worldwide, APAGS offers opportunities to enhance development towards a career in psychology.
The Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) As the primary organization representing psychologists throughout Canada, CPA is committed to promoting excellence and innovation in psychological research, education, and practice.
Notable Websites
Classics in the History of Psychology "A full-text collection of 'historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines.' Search by keyword or browse by author or topic. There are 20 books and over 100 articles and chapters available, as well as links to over 170 relevant works... Developed by a professor in the Department of Psychology at York University (Toronto)." (description from Librarians' Internet Index)
Credo Reference a wealth of psychology resources by subject, type, person, media,or publication date.
Psychology Experiments on the Internet "This is 'an on-line cognitive and social psychology laboratory site ... [that] consists of a set of interactive experiments, a cumulative data archive, download utilities for both data and experiment source code, downloadable Excel macros for analyzing data from the experiments, and support materials for those who want to use and/or develop experiments at the site.' From the University of Mississippi." (description from Librarians' Internet Index)
Social Psychology Network A database of links to thousands of websites related to social psychology. Subjects include prejudice, discrimination, gender, and romance and attraction; types of material provided include professional journals, teaching resources, and research groups... Maintained by a professor at Wesleyan University." (description from Librarians' Internet Index)
Journal Articles
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Montante Family Library Psychology Databases list primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of psychology.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
PsycPort: Psychology Newswire- The mission of the APA is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people’s lives.
Psychology Theory
Psychology Theory - academic theories that are relevant to changing minds
- Activation Theory: we have a need for arousal.
- Amplification Hypothesis: certainty hardens attitude.
- Consistency Theory: we seek the comfort of internal alignment.
- Drive Theory: we seek to satisfy needs.
- Self-Discrepancy Theory: we need beliefs to be consistent.
- Cognitive Dissonance: non-alignment is uncomfortable.
- Attitude-Behavior Consistency: factors that align attitude and behavior.
- Reactance Theory: discomfort when freedom is threatened.
- Attribution Theory: we need to attribute cause, that supports our ego.
- Endowed Progress Effect: progress is motivating.
- Extrinsic Motivation: external: tangible rewards.
- Intrinsic Motivation: internal: value-based rewards.
- Cognitive Evalution Theory: we select tasks based on how doable they are.
- Investment Model: our commitment depends on what we have invested.
- Goal-Setting Theory: different types of goals motivate us differently.
- Acquired Needs Theory: we seek power, achievement or affiliation.
- ERG Theory: we seek to fulfil needs of existence, relatedness and growth.
- Expectancy Theory: we are motivated by desirable things we expect we can achieve.
- Control Theory: we seek to control the world around us.
- Opponent-Process Theory: opposite emotions interact.
- Self-Determination Theory: external and internal motivation.
- The Transtheoretical Model of Change: stages in changing oneself.
Anna Freud RC 339.52.F73 Y68 circulating collection
B.F.Skinner BF109.S55 W44 circulating collection
Erik H. Erikson The Power and Limits of a Vision RC 339.52.E 74 R6 circulating collection
Pavlov, A Biography QP26.P35 B3 circulating collection

Pioneers of Psychology Bf 95.F3 circulating collection
The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud
BF173 .F62 circulating collection

Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Questions?
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
DYC Switchboard (Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
(M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm)
Email: refdesk@dyc.edu
Text-a-Librarian: Text "refdesk" to 66746
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
The book, article, or dissertation you want is not available at our library? We'll get it for you from somewhere else!
Citing your resources
Psychology Department
320 Porter Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14201
Phone: (716) 829-7608
Fax: (716) 829-7760
Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. — 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
Location: ALT 426 (Dr. Pauline Alt Building)Chair
Dr. M. Ruth Kelly
Phone: (716) 829-8192
E-Mail: kellyru@dyc.eduSecretary
Martha Morales
Phone: (716) 829-7608
E-Mail: moralesm@dyc.edu




Loading...
