This is the "Montante Family Library Subject Guide" page of the "Physical Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Therapy  

Welcome to the Physical Therapy Subject Guide! This subject guide includes information on where to find Physical Therapy resources such as journal articles, books, professional resources, and more.
Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://dyc.libguides.com/pt Print Guide RSS Updates

Montante Family Library Subject Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Online Reference Resources

R2 Digital Library
Browse R2 Digital Library, a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers.




Cover Art
Geriatric Physical Therapy - Rita Wong; Andrew A. Guccione; Dale Avers
ISBN: 9780323029483
Publication Date: 2011-01-24



 

Evidence-Based Practice

Implementing Evidence-Based Practice  

From APTA's website and dedicated to the subject of evidence-based practice.  It includes evidence-based documentation, podcasts and videos, as well as seminal articles on the subject and its impact on the physical therapy profession.

Evidence-Based Practice Education Resources   

A list of educational materials and resources from the World Confederation for Physical Therapy.  

PEDro's Tutorials 

Video tutorials that explain how to formulate a clinical question that will help facilitate an effective search of the literature and determine the strength of the evidence presented in a study.

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Physical Therapy Databases  List of primary databases used to find full-text articles and abstracts in the field of physical therapy.

Pubmed  PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites

PEDro  PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 31,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

Directory of Public Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.  Open access means that the full text of the articles is free.  The database is easily filtered by subject and searched using keywords.

Found the perfect article but can't find the full text?  The library provides a document delivery service. Create a profile in ILLIAD and submit your request for any journal article and the library will deliver a pdf of the article to your ILLiad account.

Request a Journal Article

Checking the Library for Full Text 

 

Subject Specific Library Resources

Cover Art
Clinical Neuroscience for Rehabilitation - Margaret Schenkman; James Bowman; Robyn Gisbert; Russell Butler
Call Number: QP361 .C59 2013
ISBN: 9780133024692
Publication Date: 2012-07-10

Cover Art
Orthopedic Physical Assessment - David J. Magee
Call Number: RD734 .M34 2014
ISBN: 9781455709779
Publication Date: 2013-12-04

Cover Art
Dutton's Orthopaedic Examination Evaluation and Intervention, Third Edition - Mark Dutton
Call Number: RD734 .D88 2012
ISBN: 9781283546133
Publication Date: 2012-08-14

Cover Art
Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System - Donald A. Neumann
Call Number: QP303 .N465 2010
ISBN: 9780323039895
Publication Date: 2009-12-01

Cover Art
Wellness and Physical Therapy - Sharon Elayne Fair
Call Number: RM700 .F35 2011
ISBN: 9781449610340
Publication Date: 2010-10-22
ALSO AVAILABLE IN E-BOOK FORMAT

Cover Art
Physical Rehabilitation - Michelle H. Cameron (Editor); Linda Monroe (Editor)
Call Number: RM700 .P4724 2007
ISBN: 9780721603612
Publication Date: 2007-04-05

Professional Organizations

  • American Physical Therapy Association
    APTA is an individual membership professional organization representing more than 90,000 member physical therapists (PTs), physical therapist assistants (PTAs), and students of physical therapy. Membership has benefits such as access to PTNow, a tool for translating research into knowledge for practice and implementing evidence in the evaluation and treatment of patients.
  • Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA)
    CPA represents over 14,000 physiotherapists, physiotherapist assistants and physiotherapist students across Canada. Membership has benefits such as access to Physiopedia and Rehabilitation Reference Center.
  • New York Physical Therapy Association (NYPTA)
    The Mission of the NYPTA is “to represent and
    promote the profession of physical therapy in meeting the
    needs and interests of members in their service to society,
    and to develop and advance the art and science of physical
    therapy including practice, education, and research.”
  • Ontario Physiotherapy Association (OPA)
    OPA is committed to leadership in physiotherapy through the provision of advocacy, professional development and career support services for its members in order to provide quality physiotherapy to Ontarians

Career Guides, Certification and Licensure

  • Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT)
    The FSBPT's mission is to protect the public by providing service and leadership that promote safe and competent physical therapy practice. They provide access to state licensing authorities and detailed information about the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE).
  • Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators
    The Alliance is the pan-Canadian federation of provincial/territorial physiotherapy regulators committed to the development and improvement of regulatory standards of practice for physiotherapists. They provide information about the Physiotherapy Competency Examination (PCE).
  • The U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Features information on physical therapy careers, discussing working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources.
  • New York State Education Department
    NYSED’s Office of the Professions provides physical therapy information specific to New York State including licensure requirements, registered licensee statistics and more.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jackie Coffey Scott
Contact Info
716-829-7747 Research Desk
Send Email
 

Get Help

Research Desk: 716-829-7747

Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618

DYC Switchboard

(Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921

Email: refdesk@dyc.edu

Anatomy Resources

IMAIOS

An online atlas of human anatomy containing medical images of the whole human body in CT/MRI with labeling in various languages including English and Chinese.


Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice 

      

Available in the library or online


Visible Body is a suite of online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, and more.


The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders

                   

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip