News / Noticias
Reference / Fuentes
Written for students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain.
The encyclopedia provides students, academics, librarians and the general reader with convenient access to basic bibliographic and factual data on specific events and broad processes in Mexican history. It promotes scholarly dialogue across disciplinary and national borders and provides a useful component for multi-disciplinary courses on Mexico.
A concise overview of 20th- and 21st-century Mexico, this volume explores the political, economic, social, and cultural history of the world's largest Spanish-speaking country
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion.
This guide gives a brief and accessible overview of the whole of Latin American Studies. Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.
Focuses on the fight for equal educational access and represents a significant addition to American educational literature. The contributorsto this volume reveal that many Latino children still face challenges that were present many decades ago. In addition to such obstacles as cultural conflicts and racism, they also face teachers, curricula, and assessments that are not always respectful to their backgrounds.
Broadly concerned with the languages and cultures of the vast 'Hispanic' world, this essential book provides all the necessary introductory information on the subject and will be especially useful for students who have already started courses in Spanish / Hispanic Studies, or who are considering doing so in the future.
Culture / Cultura
Tourism in Spain A webportal for tourism in Spain. Gives great information conerning the major tourist spots all over the country including famous museums, historic sites, and holidays. The food section will also give you an idea of what Spanish cuisine is like!
Interactive map of Spain While the main purpose is to adverise books, this interactive map is a great, unique way to explore the country. It will give you visual representations of the different geographical areas of Spain (Madrid, Cataluña, Andalucia), the famous cities, popular food dishes, and cultural sites.
RTVE is Spain's state-owned public media cooperation. Founded completely by public funds, it is the Spain's largest network. Some of the TV clips will not play due to international restrictions; however, there are clips that are viewable.
Canal Cocina here is a link to the Spanish cooking show Canal Cocina's YouTube chanel. You can find their website here; however, YouTube doesn't restrict you from watching clips due to your geographic location.
Todo Sobre España is a webportal with extensive information on Spain. Most of the links deal with geographical information (regions, tourist sites, cities, islands, etc), but the culture link provides basic information on some celebrations, traditions, music, and cuisine.
Corrida de Toros here is a link to a recent (2012) bullfight that takes place in Spain.
Tapas are perhaps Spain's most well known food. This webpage gives introductory information on what they are, how to make them, and their history.
Don Quijote Travel while their primary focus is teaching Spanish, their website is full of rich information concerning tourist spots in all Spanish speaking countries. There is also basic information on common customs.
An internationally recognized, peer-reviewed journal that publishes original manuscripts in all areas of Hispanic literatures, cultures, and film, including essays on theoretical and interdisciplinary topics.
A semiannual, Spanish-language journal published by the Department of Spanish and Portuguese at California State University in Sacramento. Publishes criticism of Hispanic literatures, as well as original work such as poetry, short plays, and stories.
Book review section provides commentary, ranging from brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture. Regular notices of the activities of the Conference on Latin American History appear in this journal.
A quarterly journal devoted to research in Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian literatures and cultures. The journal features essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Iberia and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present.
Romance Notes is published three times a year. The journal accepts articles on any literary, cultural, or linguistic topic dealing with Romance studies.
Health & Nursing / Salud & Enfermero
Saludalia: An exclusively Spanish site that publishes information on a wide-range of health related topics. More focused on daily living.
Tuotro Medico: More formal that Saludalia, Tuotro Medico offers more extensive information on specific medical conditions rather than day-to-day life.
Family Doctor: Health information that is focused around the family covering many different age groups and demographics.
Innatia: A guide to natural, home remedies.
La Leche League: Resources and support for women that are brestfeeding
The Office of Minority Health: A subset of the HHS (Health & Human Services) that provides resources and information specifically on minority populations.
CDC: Report on hispanic health within the United States. The CDC (Center for Disease Control) has extensive information on Hispanic health, and is best suited for nursing students.
CDC en Español: A link to the CDC's homepage in Spanish.
Pan American Health Orgnization (PAHO): This international public health agency catering to the Americas (North and South America). Much like many other goverment agencies, PAHO has extensive information and publications regarding public health.
Health Finder: Very easy to use website regarding finding a health practitioner. I'd recommend checking out the "Recursos de Salud" for their encyclpedia of terms.
Ministerio de Sanidad: Spain's Department of Health.
ISPOR: Find each Latin American country's major health authority website.
716-829-7747 Research Desk
Learning / Aprender
Spaleon: A learning tool to help with the learning and memorization of verb conjugations. Very highly recommended.
Páginas de Ayuda: Geared towards intermediate and advanced students, Bowdoin College has put together an essential guide to Spanish grammar. Great for reference, exercises, and exploring some finer points of grammar.
Dictonaries / Diccionarios
Word Reference: A very concise online dictionary that also covers common usages of the words, idioms, and complete conjugations of verbs. Website is also equipped with forums for further discussions about usage and grammar.
Business Dictionary: Peter Collins business dictionary for Spanish, powered by Credo.
Law Dictionary: Peter Collins law dictionary for Spanish, powered by Credo.
Collins Spanish Dictionary: Collins Spanish Dictionary, powered by Credo.